• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

Texas Courthouses

Teeds

Reaction score
First Name
Tony
Last Name
Eeds
The thread about the bridges got me to thinking about a goal I have been working on for about four years. I am close to completing my goal of visiting all 254 county courthouses in Texas. In my professional capacity as a preservation architect, I often get opportunities to visit our smaller communities and decided to fulfill a life long dream and visit them all. All that is left is the upper panhandle and a couple between San Antonio and Victoria. It has been a wonderful experience and I have met many memorable people during my journeys.

I think I will start again as soon as I complete my goal, except only count them if I use my bike this time. The trip will be longer and the roads even smaller.

If you have never considered this goal, I highly recommend it.

What is your favorite county seat? To date, mine is Mason although all are charming in their own right.

Ours is being renovated as we speak:

Willamson.JPG

I like the copper dome:

Court_House_dome_big.jpg

You'll appreciate this link I found:

http://www.angelfire.com/tx6/courthouse/xmas.html

Last edited:
Thanks for the link. I had that once upon a time, but lost it when my computer died.

Williamson County Courthouse is one of my favorite. I have some good friends there. One runs Main Street and the other owns Baker Signs.

My mother's family is from Palo Pinto, my father's from Lockhart, I was raised in Fort Worth, so I grew up playing in the shade of some really nice courthouses.

Hey Teeds, did you gather any photos/data on previous courthouses?