• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

Howdy from Bryan - New Rider

Reaction score
I am totally new to being a two-wheeler. Took my MSF course this past weekend on a nice little Suzuki 250 and really enjoyed it.

The reason I decided to take the MSF course was that my dad passed his 2002 Ultra Classic down to me. It has a lot of sentimental value for me as I used to ride on the back with him when I was a kid.

However... it is a lot of bike! I really look forward to having the skills and confidence to ride it. . In the meantime I'll be looking for something more manageable. So if you know anyone who's selling...

Look forward to being part of the community!

ultra classic.JPG

Welcome from the Southwest contingent. I'll echo Tuco's statement; too many new riders just hop on a large or high horsepower bike and wind up doing a disservice to themselves, their bike, and possibly an innocent member of the public. Good on you for being level-headed enough to start out small and work your way up. But don't let that H-D sit idle for too long. A little putt around the neighborhood every month will be good for it. And you.

That's really cool that you got your Dad's bike. I picked up a few used KTM 390 Adventures for my kids to ride after they got their licenses. They love them. We ride all the time between Huntsville and College Station. You can find nice used ones with lots of accessories in the $4.5-5.5K range. They have ABS and traction control. They will run 80mph even loaded with luggage. You can ride mild off road on them and have fun on all the forest/county roads between BCS and Huntsville.