• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

Gold Wing vs R 1250 GSA

Gold Wing or R 1250 GSA for long street miles

• Total voters
Reaction score
I am looking to buy a bike for long days on the slab. My first choice was a new Gold Wing. After talking to a friend, he told me the most comfortable bike he's ever owned was his 2021 Tiger 1200. I have only owned ADV bikes so I have no experience on a Wing. For reference he has well over a million miles riding Wings! Since that conversation, I spoke with another person who has owned a lot of bikes and he advised his 2021 R 1250 GSA is the most comfortable bike he has owned. That being said I have never ridden a the GSA or the Wing. So which would you choose for long street miles (no dirt or gravel). I am mainly concerned with comfort, comfort and comfort.

Much as it irks the Long Way Round wannabe's we primarily own an R1250GSA because it's the best sport tourer made! For such a large bike it carries its weight so low and is so well balanced that it can take on everything from fast slab (remember it was born in the land of the Autobahn) to twisties and of course, gravel, dirt & fire roads if the fancy takes ya. Cruise control, adaptive ABS, hill assist, electronic suspension, ride modes...you got it all.

You're welcome to test ride ours if you're in the area.

Not sure you'll get a test ride on the Honda, but any BMW dealer will let you take a GSA out. Comfort is pretty subjective, and those two bikes are pretty different. I'd think you'd be looking at a K1600 or RT for comparison. If I had to have one bike to do everything it would be a GSA.

Justin has had a GS in the past and got rid of it for long highway miles. I found his thoughts on the bike rather interesting.