• Welcome to the Two Wheeled Texans community! Feel free to hang out and lurk as long as you like. However, we would like to encourage you to register so that you can join the community and use the numerous features on the site. After registering, don't forget to post up an introduction!

New KLR650 owner in Houston TX. (problems aswell...)

Reaction score

Howdy all!​

Finally made it here. I have been looking at bikes for 2 years on Craigslist and dreaming but found one in my budget. I have had my 66cc gas bike for a year or so now, and it just made me want to get a motorcycle even more. (pictures at the bottom.)
I am new to street-legal motorcycles and just purchased a Gen 1 KLR 650. The bike has 16000 miles on it and PO kept a nice chart of all the upgrades and mods he did to it. He gave me all the original parts and also provided me with the manual and toolset.
He has done the Doohickey, KLX Jet, Subframe Bolts, rebuilt piston and cylinder, Mikuni TM42 Carb, Thermobob, and new radiator hoses. He also upgraded the rear spring and the front brakes. I saw this bike on Cycletrader for a decent bike jumped the gun and bought it. I am very happy with my purchase and I think that it is a sweet KLR with a lot of mods already done to it. Here is a picture.
Snapchat-2144240707~2.jpg